i thirst

How can my soul thirst for You

When my soul of souls is blackness?

How can I pant for streams of water

When my oldest yearnings are for

the cisterns of another?

How can I pour out my heart

in the house of God

When I sit so highly in

the seat of scoffers?

I turn to the idols of Gomer

and say

Where is my God?

Oh, God. My God.

My soul is downcast.

My tears, I

eat and drink them

I plead to You, drowning in a bleeding heart

I wrongly ask,

Why have you forsaken me?

I ask for the Lord’s love to be

directed toward me

I plead for

your waves and waterfalls

to sweep over me

I am not forsaken.

Leave a Reply

