The Future

Brave New World

This is what you get when you type "the future" in Google. Hooray Green Peace.

Blog Focus. I’m starting to rethink this whole blogging thing. I’m at a crossroads, of sorts. The blog needs to change, and it can go one of two ways. 1. I start posting more often. 2. I post even more rarely than I do now.

I’m going to try the first one for a little while, I guess. I want to try to churn out more content, but that has to start small. I can’t create a blog overnight that everybody falls in love with, thus bringing in sponsors who throw large amounts of money at me and enable me to retire from public life, taking my sizable mound of of riches and spend the rest of my life playing Scrooge McDuck.

But everybody wants to be read. That’s at the heart of every writer, and I think for two reasons:

1. When you’re read enough, eventually people are willing to pay you — either to read your material (published) or to get people who read your material to click advertisements to their sites (bloggers). Making money writing is the ultimate gig for any writer. A writer want two things: a steady occupation and lots of time to write, and getting read a lot (and thus getting paid) is cool because those two goals now come from the same thing.

2. I’m discovering more and more that writing is near the center of who I am. I know I’m not often very introspective on this blog, but maybe I need to become so (not too much though…this isn’t Facebook). I’ll write more about this later, perhaps, but I grew up thinking I wanted to be a writer. Of course, I had very little concept as to what that meant, and so I wasn’t willing to push through those inevitable hard writing days — the ones where you feel like you’re squeezing your brain for any interesting words to string together, but the Muse isn’t giving you any juice.

I actually remember sitting on the floor in front of the TV during Christmas 2008, thinking about my future in writing. I was watching the Rose Bowl. I knew I should write, if I wanted to be considered a “writer,” but I resisted. I said, “If I have to work this hard at writing, I don’t want to do it.”

I, as Stephen Pressfield would put it, gave in to the Resistance. I gave into those voices that tell you to slack off, take it easy, avoid working hard. So I didn’t write, not for over a year. Sure, I wrote a couple essays, many articles for class, a few blog posts, even a few decent short stories (I even took a short forms fiction class last May). But I was foolling everyone. My heart wasn’t in it, and the Muse knew it. So she (or he, I don’t know my Muse’s gender yet) didn’t give me anything. That’s how it works.

So, am I “back”? Depends. Was I ever there in the first place? Have I ever truly been a writer? I’ve known what it took, and refused to give it. I hope this blog helps me overcome that. And the only way to get there is to write every day.

That’s the future of the blog. Something every day, so keep me accountable. Doesn’t have to be profound. Writing rarely is. Just bang it out. Punch the keys. Push through. That’s the only way to find satisfaction in this ridiculous, draining thing called writing.

Why does this matter?

Okay, so you just read my soliloquy on writing. What does this mean for you, constant reader? One, I will try to produce more content more often. Two, I will try to make it interesting to you. For this to happen, you will have to give some serious feedback. Three, I will post interesting links I came across the previous day in my Morning Press. The Morning Press will come out every weekday, though not necessarily in the morning. Four, each post (as in, everything I post on this blog, not just Morning Press) will be one of two things. It will either communicate something I’m thinking (like an opinion post, a short essay, a short story perhaps, etc.), or it will point you to another website. It will be someone else wrote that I think is significant (e.g. Morning Press). Fifth, I want to actually use tags now, so later readers can go back and see what I’m writing. Sixth, I want to try to expand my readership, so if you have any ideas, comment please.

With that said, I’m taking the rest of the weekend off. See you Monday with Morning Press.

Leave a Reply

