Morning Press 3.11.10

Grooveshark

For those of you who like Pandora, or used to listen to Imeem before it was taken over by Myspace, perhaps you would enjoy Grooveshark, as I do. It’s simple, attractive, and it has a wide variety of music. I would definitely suggest it. Whatever you are looking for, you will probably find it. I listen to a lot of modern classical and minimalism, and it’s all there, so you can be sure that any contemporary Christian, country, pop, rock or whatever will certainly be there too. Of course, anything is better than looking for some random song on YouTube, only to find an extremely low-quality version.

MLB Trade Rumors

A great resource for baseball information just got a facelift. Check it out here, if you’re as obsessed as I am about baseball (especially the Mets).

Gilead

John Piper gives his review of Marilynne Robinson’s novel Gilead. In fact, he’s been posting on Twitter about it for the last two days. He posted on Twitter this afternoon that the book was “worth every minute,” and added this in his review:

Marilynne Robinson’s novel Gilead—if you can call it that—continues to move me, months after I read it. I have waited to comment on it since I knew it would be around for decades (centuries?). I wanted to let it ripen in my memory.

Rev. John Ames is dying. The book is a kind of last testament he would like his young son to read when he is twenty-five, long after his father is dead. His voice is still with me.

He did note, however, that it is not a “must-read,” as many people tend to say. There is no must-read besides the Bible. The book has been on my reading list for quite a while, but I haven’t yet gotten around to it. This might finally get me to pull it off the shelf.

Ban laptops from the classroom?

Lincoln Mullen thinks we should. Read it.

[Edit: Mullen actually commented on this post. He said this: “Not ban them. Just be judicious about when they are allowed.” Sorry for the misrepresentation. A good point nonetheless. Why do we insist on bringing laptops to class? I’m in college now, and I can tell you that most kids are on Facebook or ESPN.com…especially in the back row.]

2 thoughts on “Morning Press 3.11.10

Leave a Reply

