This Is Your Brain On the Internet

For one of my journalism classes, I’m writing a feature piece about going without technology (iPod, recreational computer, Kindle, etc.) for a week. I’m interested in finding out just how dependent I am on technology, and even more, how technology has shaped my daily habits. For example — the first thing I do every morning is check my email. Of course, this is justified to be completely natural—what if there’s an important question from a classmate? Or a note from a friend? Or a professor telling my class that he’s sick and won’t be in today? But there are other things too. Very trivial things.

Like how I check Facebook several times a day, or how I look on Twitter for the latest news about my favorite sports teams, or how at midnight on Monday, Wednesday and Friday mornings I get in bed and pull up the latest xkcd comic on my iPod touch. Sometimes when I’m bored, I just randomize through those comics, or click through StumbleUpon, or watch stupid stuff on YouTube. I look through my Twitter feed when I’m waiting in line at Chucks, standing at the toilet, walking around campus, waiting for class to start, during boring moments in class. Sometimes I wonder how I got so lame.

In his upcoming book, “The Next Story,” Tim Challies* offers some reasons and, hopefully, a few potential remedies. Check out the kinda entertaining trailer:

And also this cool deal on Challie’s blog that could potentially get you the ebook (haha irony, get it? haha) on Kindle for $2.99 instead of the customary $9.99.

*(also: if you don’t read his blog, you…uh…should)

Leave a Reply

